Apgar Score System

Apgar Score System

Rating procedure to identify newborns needing life-sustaining medical assistance. It was developed in 1952 by Virginia Apgar (1909–1974). Five signs, keyed to Apgar's name—Appearance (color), Pulse, Grimace (reflex irritability), Activity (muscle tone), and Respiration—measure adaptation to leaving the uterus. The maximum score is 10. If the total score at one and then five minutes after birth is less than 7, the infant is reevaluated every five minutes for 20 minutes or until two consecutive scores of 7 or more are obtained.

This entry comes from Encyclopædia Britannica Concise.
For the full entry on Apgar Score System, visit Britannica.com.

Seen & Heard

What made you look up Apgar Score System? Please tell us what you were reading, watching or discussing that led you here.

Get Our Free Apps
Voice Search, Favorites,
Word of the Day, and More
Join Us on FB & Twitter
Get the Word of the Day and More