Province (pop., 2002 est.: 63,380,000), east-central China. It is bounded by Jiangsu, Zhejiang, Jiangxi, Hubei, Shandong, and Henan provinces. With an area of 54,000 sq mi (139,900 sq km), it is one of China's smallest provinces; its capital is Hefei. Anhui was the first part of southern China to be settled by the Han dynasty, from c. 205 BC. Well-watered by the Huai and Yangtze (Chang) rivers, it was the empire's major agricultural area for several centuries. Anhui was ruled by the Ming dynasty in the 14th–17th centuries. It was occupied by the Japanese in World War II; after the war the Nationalists held it briefly before the communists took over. It remains a notable agricultural producer.

Variants of ANHUI

Anhui or An-hui conventional Anhwei

This entry comes from Encyclopædia Britannica Concise.
For the full entry on Anhui, visit

Seen & Heard

What made you look up Anhui? Please tell us what you were reading, watching or discussing that led you here.